A Magical Roleplaying Experience 

Start Here • Check here often so you don't miss a thing!
 #38629  by *Admin Sprinkles

Loading Issues & Solutions
Hello everyone! Admin Sprinkles here!

Are you sick of the Vault loading very slowly? Us too! Speaking at least for myself, I am very sick of it and feeling bad that the slow load times and errors are getting in the way of everyone's roleplaying. While I am not an expert on server maintenance, I do have a few theories up my sleeve (and a crack team of tech support people with our host) and believe that some dedicated time to investigate the issues will be beneficial for us all.

Because of this, Vault 713's forums will be going offline for an extended downtime beginning on Sunday, May 17, at approximately 3:00 PM CST. This downtime is anticipated to last around two weeks, which I will explain further below. While I realize this comes at a largely inconvenient time for many people, we do not want to risk damage to our database or causing additional problems, and the goal is to have one period of condensed, planned ongoing downtime to avoid shorter periods of unexpected error-induced downtime that might come at a time when you're writing a post you don't want to lose. (We don't want that to happen, ever.)

Why didn't this happen during the season changeover downtime?
Shortest answer, it did! Longer answer, that downtime was pre-scheduled to deal with season changeover issues and we did not anticipate that the loading errors would get worse after the downtime. Some efforts were made to fix it, but I ran out of time. It happens sometimes!

Two weeks?! Are you insane?! Why?!
This is my best estimate based on how long these things have taken to resolve in the past. As many of you know, we've been kicking it since 2001 and this is far from the first time we've had to have this kind of downtime, so this is the amount of time I think it will take to really figure out what is going on and address the problem.